Unite. Resist. Rise.

Join us for Champions for Change 2017

Join us for an evening of celebration and vision-building with distinguished local and national social justice leaders. We will reflect on recent, historic accomplishments for Silicon Valley’s working families and our shared vision to unite, resist, and rise as working families, community allies, and industry partners in solidarity for a just economy.

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

6:00 pm Moveable Feast
7:00pm Program

San Jose Convention Center

150 West San Carlos Street
San Jose, CA 95113

Keynote Speaker

Maria Elana Durazo

Maria Elena Durazo

UNITE HERE General Vice President for Immigration, Civil Rights, and Diversity

Maria Elena is Vice President for UNITE HERE International Union, which represents more than 270,000 hospitality workers in the U.S. and Canada. She began as an organizer with HERE in 1983, was the first woman elected Secretary-Treasurer of the Los Angeles County Federation of Labor, and serves as co-chair of the national AFL-CIO’s Immigration Committee and Vice-Chair of the Democratic National Committee.

Learn more


Working Partnerships USA and the Champions for Change 2017 Host Committee thank our event sponsors for supporting us as we drive the movement for a just economy:

Host Committee

Champions for Change 2017 would not be possible without the hard work and commitment of our Host Committee:

  • Margaret Abe-Koga
    Councilmember, City of Mountain View
  • Dolores Alvarado
    Executive Director, Community Health Partners
  • Nikki Fortunado Bas
    Executive Director, Partnership for Working Families
  • Jim Beall
    California State Senator
  • Teresa Castellanos
    Board Member, San Jose Unified School District
  • Dominic J. Caserta
    Vice Mayor, City of Santa Clara
  • Cindy Chavez
    Santa Clara County Supervisor
  • Kansen Chu
    California State Assemblymember
  • Dave Cortese
    President, Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors
  • Jennifer Epps-Addison
    Network President and Co-Executive Director, Center for Popular Democracy
  • Anjee Helstrup-Alvarez
    Executive Director, Movimiento de Arte y Cultura Latino Americana
  • Sergio Jimenez
    Councilmember, City of San Jose
  • Ash Kalra
    California State Assemblymember
  • Rosemary Kamei
    Trustee, Santa Clara County Board of Education
  • Brian Kettenring
    Co-Executive Director, Center for Popular Democracy
  • Kathleen King
    Chief Executive Officer, Healthier Kids Foundation Santa Clara County
  • Raul Peralez
    Councilmember, City of San Jose
  • Andres Quintero
    Trustee, Alum Rock Union Elementary School District